I was checking out the adverts that are being displayed on my website I was rather intrigued at some of the advert offering to set you up in your very own internet business, and how they were going to turn me into the next Richard Branson by selling some goods on e-Bay , or by setting up multiple online businesses . Intrigued I decided to sign up with a company called www.thebookwiz.com . They offered to set me up with my very own e-bookstore selling downloadable books, I thought this was a pretty novel idea, so decided to pursue it a little further, it sounded really amazing, I basically had to do nothing but sign up , and they would do all the work for me. (Too good to be true) I thought well hey I've got nothing too lose this this cost me nothing I'll go for it. In a matter of minutes after signing up , as if by magic my very own e-bookstore was set up. ( a one page website that offers a couple of downloadable books, which basically looks like thier own page only with my name in the top right hand corner) My alarm bells were ringing at this stage, probably just my cynical head. After a couple of days an email arrived from them offering some business tips on how to start making money from my book store, but also to join some of thier marketing schemes(obviously chargeable).
I tried to go to the website, but it was down, this was at the time of the Hurricane Katrina, so thought maybe some American servers were down (my disountasp was still up ) , so I thought I would give them grace, a week later I tried, and iut was still down, however the following day it was up. I check it out, but thought nothing more of it. A couple of days later an email arrived from them telling me, that the founder of the orginisation was due in London for a conference to try and officially launch the business in the UK. Would I like to attend the function, I thought well hey I could go along and have a look. So I replied I would be intrested. The following night a guy Called Steven called, telling me a bit more about thebookwiz, and giving me the information on the business and how it works etc, and how they hope our relationship will be a long and mutually beneficial one. He even spoke about skiing trips to Utah, where there office was. (on the website it says Baton Rouge Louisiana).
Steven started giving me some business tips and started asking me about my financial status, particulary about my credit cards, (Alarm Bells). He also stated how thebookwiz idea was to make money out of other peoples money .i.e Credit Cards. And in order for me to make money I owuld potentially need to use them (ALARM BELLS).
He then done the tried and trusted American formula of making me hold online while he spoke to his Vice President , about me , in that he has a good feeling that I will be a good candidate for a new scheme they are trying to launch. After a minute or two Steven came back online, and would you believe it he spoke to his VP , and he is very keen to chat to me. Bearing in mind that in the conversation with Steven, One of the most important Question's he emphaized that in starting up my business with them, it's important that I have a credit card, and that I should use this too get my business going with the ww.thebookwiz.com, as one of the tips that they say to get a business going really quickly is to use other peoples money, and that being credit card companies, at this point I had already decided that this was a scam, and there was no way in hell I was going to get involved in it, but out of interest I was going to listen to his VP, just to see how much pressure and time it they were going to use to try and get my credit card details .I must say the techniques they used were probably better I had seen in a scam in several years. It took hime 25 minutes before he went for the clincher line.
He started off by saying that they were looking for a select group of people, who were willing to give up 10 - 15 hrs a week. To promote my online business. One thing I wasn't sure of is , how come I needed to work to promote my business when when it was already suppose to happen for me. Anyway the conversation went on, and more of the american hype selling went on. Till eventually Mr. Grant Walton delivered the final blow. They were going to let me make £150 000 a year for working 10 - 15hrs a week, I was going to get personal mentoring , and a whole lot information and books and some very proprietory information. In order to get all this top notch stuff, all I had to do was hand over my Credit card information, in order to be debited £5000.00.
Well, I am still poor and I am still wokring my 9-5 job, as I am not stupid and I was not born yesterday. I still have all my Credit on my credit card. I would just like to warn everybody I can about these scammers, and thier ilk. Be wise, be careful and don't give into greed. Nothing but hard work and determination will make you rich. If it was so easy to make £150 000 a year, we'd all be doing it.
Due to an Alarming number of emails and comments I am recieving due to this post and another one that I have Concerning the BookWiz I thought I would link the 2 posts and suggest anybody who reads either to read both of them .
http://dotnetjunkies.com/WebLog/cykophysh/archive/2005/09.aspx
Good luck , Please people beware , there are many unsrupulous people put there.
Folks Could I ask you if you leave a comment and would like someone to get back to you, Please leave an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible. If you require any further assistance , feel free to mail us at www.threenineconsulting.com we will endeavour to assist you.
I have also just recently placed a Forum up so hopefully you will be able to discuss these crooks a bit more
Book Wiz Forum